surf_acerbus

Found a problem with the timer? Make a topic here.
Post Reply
kitteh
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:06 am

surf_acerbus

Post by kitteh » Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:33 am

Game crashes when you get to a certain point on some stages. (Definitely stage 1)
ziddia
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 4:34 pm

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by ziddia » Mon Oct 12, 2015 12:05 pm

kitteh wrote:Game crashes when you get to a certain point on some stages. (Definitely stage 1)
This occurs only on one specific server iirc. Don't know of the cause
TheDeathly
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by TheDeathly » Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:15 pm

ziddia wrote:
kitteh wrote:Game crashes when you get to a certain point on some stages. (Definitely stage 1)
This occurs only on one specific server iirc. Don't know of the cause
Would that be my server?
ziddia
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 4:34 pm

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by ziddia » Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:26 pm

TheDeathly wrote:
ziddia wrote:
kitteh wrote:Game crashes when you get to a certain point on some stages. (Definitely stage 1)
This occurs only on one specific server iirc. Don't know of the cause
Would that be my server?
Happened to me before VIP server went up, was probably EU? I know it works on at least one server.
TheDeathly
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 5:04 pm

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by TheDeathly » Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:00 pm

ziddia wrote: Happened to me before VIP server went up, was probably EU? I know it works on at least one server.
I tested it on US Advanced and it crashed my client. I want to say it has something to do with not having a skybox or something maybe.
User avatar
Shadow Sheep
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:22 pm

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by Shadow Sheep » Tue Oct 13, 2015 5:19 am

My guess would be the texture of the door leading to stage 2 that crshes the client once the area is rendered (so before you actually enter the last room). Kelao made me test his port before the release and they were a bit glitchy (you could see weird door shaped rendered squares through the walls) .

But I am absolutly not sure about what I am saying since it does not crash people on the other doors of the map and that he said he fixed them as well.
kitteh
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:06 am

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by kitteh » Tue Oct 13, 2015 11:47 pm

I tested with deathly and at least in the VIP server every single stage crashed my client
User avatar
Shadow Sheep
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:22 pm

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by Shadow Sheep » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:37 am

Okay, well then that must be the doors at the end of stages.

I talked a bit with Kelao and he said he turned the doors into models (that has no incidence by the way).

I looked into the textures properties these were using and found out they were using 3 textures.

The first is called metalwall085.vmt and has:

"vertexlitgeneric"
{
// original shader: basetimeslightmap
"$basetexture" "metal/metalwall085a"
"$surfaceprop" "metal"
"%keywords" "c17industrial,wasteland"
}


This is a stock hl2 texture which is the outline of the doorframe, I doubt this causes any harm. The second is called prisonmap_disp.vmt :

"unlitgeneric"
{
$model 1
"$basetexture" "effects/prisonmap_disp"
"proxies"
{



"animatedtexture"
{
"animatedtexturevar" "$basetexture"
"animatedtextureframenumvar" "$frame"
"animatedtextureframerate" 15
}
"materialmodify"
{
// fixme! this has to be here, or material loading barfs.
"dummy" 0
}

}

}


I have no idea why the "dummy" 0 is necessary here because I don't have much knowledge in .vmt properties in general. Its just that "proxies" means that what is inside are initialized custom variables initializing "animatedtexture" and "materialmodify", but i don't know why "dummy" was created inside "materialmodify". And the third texture is comshieldwall.vmt :

"unlittwotexture"
{
"$basetexture" "effects/combineshield/comshieldwall"
// "$texture2" "effects/com_shield002b"
"$texture2" "effects/combineshield/comshieldwall"

"$translucent" "1"
"$envmap" "env_cubemap"
"$envmaptint" "[1 1 1]"
"$gnoise" "1"
"$playerdistance" "0"
"$additive" 1
"$alpharesult" "1"
"$smallamount" ".1"
"$alpharesultmin" "1"
"$alpharesultmax" "1"
"$nodecal" 1
"$hundred" "100"
"$largeamount" "1"
"$playerdistance2" "1"
"$ten" "24"
"$frameminusten" "1"

"proxies"
{

"playerproximity"
{
"resultvar" "$playerdistance2"
"scale" .2
}
"subtract"
{
"srcvar1" "$playerdistance2"
"srcvar2" "$ten"
"resultvar" "$frameminusten"
}
"clamp"
{
"srcvar1" "$frameminusten"
"min" "0"
"max" "30"
"resultvar" "$frame2"
}
"clamp"
{
"srcvar1" "$frameminusten"
"min" "0"
"max" "30"
"resultvar" "$frame"
}

"playerproximity"
{
"resultvar" "$playerdistance"
"scale" 0.0009
}
"gaussiannoise"
{
"minval" .8
"maxval" 1
"mean" .7
"halfwidth" .3
"resultvar" "$gnoise"
}
"subtract"
{
"srcvar1" "$gnoise"
"srcvar2" "$playerdistance"
"resultvar" "$alpharesultmin"
}
"multiply"
{
"srcvar1" "$hundred"
"srcvar2" "$playerdistance"
"resultvar" "$largeamount"
}
"equals"
{
"srcvar1" "$playerdistance"
"resultvar" "$envmaptint[1]"
}
"add"
{
"srcvar1" "$alpharesultmin"
"srcvar2" "$smallamount"
"resultvar" "$alpharesultmax"
}
"sine"
{
"sineperiod" 1.08
"sinemin" "$alpharesultmin"
"sinemax" "$alpharesultmax"
"resultvar" "$alpha"
}


"texturescroll"
{
"texturescrollvar" "$texture2transform"
"texturescrollrate" .1
"texturescrollangle" -45
}
}
}


...Ookay. Well thats confusing for sure! This has totally a suspicious look, but that does not mean this is the reason people crash when loading the texture, especially if the thing used to work before. I did not look too deep into this, other that i found this website talking about this specific texture (by a lot of luck). Crazy VMT Materials and there functions.

I might try to look into that later because I feel tired at the moment, but I don't make any promises as if I will find something that might break the game, especialy if its an update related issue.

The fact that you said that it happens on all the stages though and not just stage 1 although makes me think that the doors leading to the next stages are the issues, and unless Stripper can remove models from maps, I might have to go ahead and try to fix this map. I am sorry for not being more precise or just not competent enough to figure out where the issue is though.
User avatar
Nastybutler
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:40 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: surf_acerbus

Post by Nastybutler » Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:00 am

comshieldwall is the one I wrote, so I know that's not it. It's used in almost every other map ported without any problems.
[Owner] -DB!- tordana: meet me in the playground after school
Post Reply